Sign up today for an exclusive discount along with our 30-day GUARANTEE — Love us or leave, with your money back! Click here to become a part of our growing community and learn how to stop gambling with your investments. We will teach you to BE THE HOUSE — Not the Gambler!

Click here to see some testimonials from our members!

These Are The Costliest States To Be Caught Speeding

Courtesy of ZeroHedge. View original post here.

Until self-driving cars completely take over for humans, something that could still be decades away, police will probably continue to hand out speeding tickets, which are an important source of funding for many departments struggling with shrinking budgets. But surprisingly, the cost of receiving a speeding ticket can vary significantly from state to state.

According to a report from WalletHub that was shared with Bloomberg, Delaware and Colorado are the most expensive states to be caught speeding or driving recklessly.  And Arizona, New Mexico and California weren’t far behind. But when it comes to the highest costs that drivers face, Oregon issues the heaviest fines for reckless driving, topping out at $6,250, the report found. On the cheaper end of the spectrum, Kentucky, Mississippi, New Mexico and Ohio issue the lowest tickets for moving violations at $100. The average maximum ticket costs a driver $845, up 14% from 2015, WalletHub found.

Speeding

That’s helpful to know, because as the Bureau of Labor Statistics recently pointed out, traffic tickets and other fines aren’t incorporated into CPI figures.

Fines are out of scope in the CPI because they are not a consumption item. Please drive carefully. Read more at https://t.co/JtkolES7aU pic.twitter.com/eyjNXr4PT4

— BLS-Labor Statistics (@BLS_gov) July 9, 2018

Unsurprisingly, Texas was the most permissive state when it comes to fining drivers for speeding.

While traffic tickets can represent significant financial burdens for millions of Americans – many of whom have less than $400 on hand to absorb unanticipated expense – the increased insurance costs that result from accruing points against your drivers license are often higher over time. Drivers in Alaska face the highest additional costs after one speeding ticket, with insurance rates climbing by 65%.

Across the US, charges of reckless driving often land drivers in jail for at least a day for their first offense and three days for their second. However, only half of US states have a specific speed threshold for reckless driving, allowing the accused to argue that their speed was, in fact, reasonable.


Do you know someone who would benefit from this information? We can send your friend a strictly confidential, one-time email telling them about this information. Your privacy and your friend's privacy is your business... no spam! Click here and tell a friend!





You must be logged in to make a comment.
You can sign up for a membership or get a FREE Daily News membership or log in

Sign up today for an exclusive discount along with our 30-day GUARANTEE — Love us or leave, with your money back! Click here to become a part of our growing community and learn how to stop gambling with your investments. We will teach you to BE THE HOUSE — Not the Gambler!

Click here to see some testimonials from our members!